A Taste of the World- A trip to Devon ave, Chicago

Growing up in Detroit, a melting pot of cultures, finding Pakistani restaurants was never hard. Finding good Pakistani restaurants was a completely different story. Whenever my parents were feeling homesick or had a serious craving for pani puri, a trip to Chicago was always in order. Devon avenue is well known among the American Pakistani community as being the place to get authentic Pakistani cuisine. After moving to Chicago, I always loved living so close to Devon ave. as it not only reminded me of my Pakistani roots, but also of my family’s several trips during my youth.

After exploring Devon a few times, I realized that there was so much more than the Pakistani restaurants my family frequented. In fact, you could find almost every Asian and South Asian cuisine on the street. Upon realizing this, Devon became my go-to for practically every craving, and the perfect place to take friends when we weren’t quite sure what mood we were in for dinner.

September being a sacred month for my roommate and I (birthday month!), over-indulging was definitely called for. We started the lead up to our birthdays by visiting one of our favorite spots for sushi. Hello Sushi, located on 1553 W. Devon ave is a great spot to go, especially if you’re a newcomer to the world of sushi like I am. The menu is approachable and the staff is very friendly, and the food is absolutely delicious.

Later on in the week, my mom paid me a visit and we had lunch at our favorite restaurant on Devon. Kabul Express, sister to Kabul House located in Skokie, IL, is a restaurant that serves traditional Afghan fare. We ordered our usual- an order of Kabuli pulao (a rice dish with carrots, golden raisins and braised lamb) and a chicken kebab sandwich with mint chutney. We had no problem eating both dishes between the two of us.

Finally, as the weekend approached, my roommate and I took a trip to Royal Sweets. One of the restaurants my family used to visit when I was young, Royal Sweets is a traditional Pakistani chaat house that sells small meals and snacks meant to be eaten with afternoon tea. We ordered masala chai (tea spiced with cinnamon and cloves) and, perhaps my favorite Pakistani snack, samosa chaat.

Embedded is a short slideshow detailing my trips to Devon ave. After watching it, I hope you crave a trip to Devon as I do, though I should probably be craving a juice cleanse.

What do you think?

